The benefits of God’s family tree

Bulletin/Handout notes

 Original Message/Sermon:  Pastor Jeff Daws
 
From morning service at Stockbridge Community Church on 9/4/11.
 
(listen to sermon or make a donation at SCCview.Net)
 
Today’s point: Being in God’s family has benefits.
 
1. You are given through Jesus a new family name
 
You are all children of God through faith in Christ Jesus. Galatians 3:26b NLT
 
Jesus answered, “Very truly I tell you, no one can enter the kingdom of God unless they are born of water and the Spirit. Flesh gives birth to flesh, but the Spirit gives birth to spirit. You should not be surprised at my saying, ‘You must be born again.’ The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.” John 3:5-8 NIV
 
“Anyone with ears to hear must listen to the Spirit and understand what he is saying to the churches. To everyone who is victorious I will give some of the manna that has been hidden away in heaven. And I will give to each one a white stone, and on the stone will be engraved a new name that no one understands except the one who receives it. Revelation 2:17 NLT
 
2. You have God’s family’s priveleges.
 
All honor to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, for it is by his boundless mercy that God has given us the privilege of being born again. Now we live with a wonderful expectation because Jesus Christ rose again from the dead. 1 Peter 1:3 NLT
 
Baptism is the privilege of being identified with the family of God.
Church membership is the privilege of becoming a part of God’s local family.
Connect groups provide the privilege of friendship in the family of God.
 
I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13
 
My God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19
 
3. You gain God’s family’s inheritance.
 
“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. John 14:1-3 NIV
 
God will wipe all tears from their eyes, and there will be no more death, suffering, crying, or pain. These things of the past are gone forever. Revelation 21:4 CEV
 
Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.  Colossians 3:23-24 NIV
 
Your next steps today:
 
1) I will receive Christ as my Savior that I may experience His cleansing & His Spirit’s power.
2) I will become fully engaged with the family of God by joining a Connect Group.
3) I will live in the light of eternity, not for retirement.
 
 
 
You can find us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/stockbridgecommunitychurch
Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The benefits of God’s family tree”

  1. TRUST AND OBEY GOD! PLEASE PUT GOD IN THE PICTURE | bummyla Says:

    […] The benefits of God’s family tree (fyi5.wordpress.com) […]

  2. The Relationship Is Real « It Just Dawned On Me Says:

    […] The benefits of God’s family tree (fyi5.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

