“How to keep your family on the right course”

Bulletin/Handout notes

 Original Message/Sermon: Pastor Ricky Mosel
 
From morning service at Stockbridge Community Church on 8/14/11.
 
(listen to sermon or make a donation at SCCview.Net)
 
“DOING LIFE IN ORANGE” Series (Part Two)
 
Today’s point:  “The heart of God should be primarily communicated through the heart of the family.”
 
I lavish unfailing love for a thousand generations on those who love me and obey my commands. Exodus 20:6 NLT
 
 “Listen, O Israel! The Lord is our God, the Lord alone. And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your strength. And you must commit yourselves wholeheartedly to these commands that I am giving you today. Deuteronomy 6:4-6 NLT
 
HOW TO FULFILL YOUR FAMILY’S ROLE:
 
1. FOCUS your priorites on what matters MOST.
 
Write these commandments that I’ve given you today on your hearts. Get them inside of you and then get them inside your children. Talk about them wherever you are, sitting at home or walking in the street; talk about them from the time you get up in the morning to when you fall into bed at night. Deuteronomy 6:6-7 MSG
 
2. PUT yourself FIRST when it comes to personal growth.
 
He also told them a parable: “Can a blind man lead a blind man? Will they not both fall into a pit? A disciple is not above his teacher, but everyone when he is fully trained will be like his teacher. Luke 6:39-40 ESV
 
3. PURSUE whatever your kids NEED to have an authentic relationship with them.
 
…we were like a mother feeding and caring for her own children. We loved you so much that we shared with you not only God’s Good News but our own lives, too. 1 Thessalonians 2:7-8 NLT
 
We loved you dearly. Not content to just pass on the Message, we wanted to give you our hearts. And we did. 1 Thessalonians 2:8 MSG
 
Your next steps today….
 
I will fullfill my family’s role today by….
 
a) Committing to influencing my kids to have an authentic relationship with God.
b) Giving my relationship with God top priority in my actions, my conversations, and my example.
c) Pursuing healthy interaction with my family on a consistent basis.
d) Offering my life to Christ and accepting Him into my life.
 
SCCview.net
You can find us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/stockbridgecommunitychurch
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

