Father’s Day weekend

Fathers, how are you spending your time? The following story is my Father’s Day post. This Sunday will also by my very first official Father’s Day, and I find myself more excited than if it were my Birthday + Christmas x 1,000! I can’t even begin to describe the pride and joy that swells up in me every time my son smiles and says “Da-Da”. With that being said, the following was passed on to me, and I want to pass it on to the Dads out there, and even the future Dads as well as the single Moms who have to do the job of both and deserve more credit than I can even imagine.

It had been some time since Jack had seen the old man. College, girls, career and life itself got in the way. In fact, Jack moved clear across the country in pursuit of his dreams. There, in the rush of his busy life, Jack had little time to think about the past and often no time to spend with his son and wife. He was working on his future and nothing could stop him. One day he had a chat on the phone with his Mom that went like this:

Mom: Mr. Belser died, the funeral is Wednesday.

~Instantly memories flashed through his mind like an old newsreel as he remembered his childhood days.~

Mom: Jack, did you hear me?

Jack: Oh, sorry Mom, yes, I heard you. It’s been so long since I thought of him. I’m sorry, but I honestly thought he died years ago.

Mom: Well, he didn’t forget you. Every time I saw him, he’d ask how you were doing. He’d reminisce about the many days you spent over on his side of the fence, as he put it.

Jack: I loved that old house he lived in.

Mom: You know, Jack, after your father died, Mr. Belser stepped in to make sure you had a man’s influence in your life.

Jack: He’s the one who taught me carpentry. I wouldn’t be in the business if it weren’t for him. He spent a lot of time teaching me things he thought were important. Mom, I will be there for the funeral.

~As busy as he was, he kept his word. The night before he had to return home, Jack and his mom stopped by the old house next door one last time. The house looked the same. Jack stopped suddenly.~

Mom: What’s wrong Jack?

Jack: The box is gone!

Mom: What box?

Jack: There was a gold box he kept locked on top of his desk. I must have asked him a thousand times what was inside. All he’d ever tell me was “the thing I value most.” It’s gone, now I will never know what was inside it.

~Jack flew home and soon after he got home, the mailman came with a package and it required a signature. The package looked like it had been mailed a hundred years ago. his eye caught the return address – Mr. Belser. Jack opened the package and there was the gold box and a note that read: “Upon my death, please forward this box and its contents to Jack Bennett. It’s the things I valued most in my life.” Taped to the letter was a key. With tears in his eyes, he unlocked the box and inside he found a beautiful gold pocket watch. He unlatched the cover and inside, he found these words engraved, “Jack thanks for your time, Harold Belser.” The things he valued the most was….. Jack’s time. Jack immediately called his office and cancelled his appointments for the next two days.~

Jack’s secretary Janet: Why?

Jack: I need some time to spend with my son, and oh by the way, Janet thanks for your time.

–Okay Dads, are you using your time wisely? Don’t put off taking every opportunity to spend time with those who love you. I pray today that God will help not only Dad’s, but all of us use our time wisely, and with our loved ones.

God bless, and Happy Father’s Day Weekend,

Chris

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Father’s Day weekend”

  1. wdednh Says:

    Congratulation and welcome to Fatherhood šŸ™‚

  2. wdednh Says:

    šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

