The Art Of Cursing

Bulletin/Handout notes

Original Message/Sermon: Jeff Daws

From morning service at Stockbridge Community Church on 6/12/11.

(listen to sermon at SCCview.Net)

Tongue Pierced Series (week two)

“The tongue has the power of life and death” (Proverbs 18:21)

>THE QUALITY OF MY WORDS DETERMINES THE QUALITY OF MY LIFE<

FOUR WAYS TO TURN CURSING INTO BLESSING

1.) Be aware of the TRUTH about cursing.

“But no man can tame the tongue. It is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison. With it we bless our God and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in the similitude of God. Out of the same mouth proceed blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not to be so.”  (James 3:8-10)

2.) Learn to THINK before I speak.

(learn to hit the pause button on our mouth)

“A man finds joy in giving an apt reply–and how good is a timely word!” (Proverbs 15:23)

(learn to consider if your words are truly honoring God)

MEMORY VERSE FOR THE WEEK: “May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.” (Psalm 19:14)

(remember that all of the “I’m Sorry’s” in the world cannot heal the wounds that words can cause)

3.) ENCOURAGE others with my words.

“Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.” (1 Thessalonians 5:11)

“But I tell you that anyone who is angry with a brother or sister will be subject to judgment. Again, anyone who says to a brother or sister, ‘Raca, is answerable to the court. And anyone who says, ‘You fool!’ will be in danger of the fire of hell.”  (Matthew 5:22)

(very important side note: “Raca” is an Aramaic term for CONTEMPT. Contempt is a form of ‘open disrespect’. Also it is important to note that in Bible times, the word used for “fool” was a word used to describe a non-believer or a pagan)

4.) SURRENDER my life to Jesus Christ.

“To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”” (John 8:31-32)

“If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.”  (Romans 10:9)

 

YOUR NEXT STEPS TODAY

-I will memorize Psalm 19:14.

-I will work to remove all inappropriate cursing from my vocabulary.

-I will surrender my heart to Christ for the first time. (click HERE)

-I have been away from Christ and will recommit my life to Him today.

 

Find SCC on Facebook at www.facebook.com/stockbridgecommunitychurch

2 Responses to “The Art Of Cursing”

  1. Taming The Tongue And The Heart! « Christian CoffeeShop Says:

    […] The Art Of Cursing (fyi5.wordpress.com) […]

  2. The Cursing Tongue « Says:

    […] The Art Of Cursing (fyi5.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

