Fighting Depression

Bucket well

Image via Wikipedia

A common greeting goes something like this: “Hi, how are you doing today?”. Well, once when a woman was asked this she replied: “I feel awesome today, but I dread tomorrow because there is always a string of bad days after one good one.” That reminds me of another story I heard recently.

Two buckets (yes buckets, it’s an analogy folks) went to a well one day. One was crying and said “It breaks my heart to think that no matter how full we become at the well, we will just be empty again on our next trip back”. His companion bucket just started laughing, and said “I was just congratulating myself because no matter how empty I ever get, all I have to do is go back to the well!”

And that story reminded me of another one I read recently. One spring morning, two little girls ran out into the garden to view the work of God. When they got far enough into the garden, they found God’s work to be beautiful! Dewdrops decorated every leaf, and sunlight shone bright on more than a hundred, perfectly formed, full bloomed roses. One went home to her mother that day sad because no matter how beautiful the roses were, there was at least one thorn for every rose. The second girl went home to her mother celebrating over the fact that for every thorn she saw, God had made a beautiful rose.

I have always heard people talk about perception being reality. If we let the thoughts of negativity (a direct influence of Satan in our daily lives) into our hearts and minds, then our perception of everything will be negative. The same goes for our speech, to quote Pastor Jeff Daws “The quality of my words, reflects the quality of my life”. Negativity is cancerous. How can anyone truly rationalize being a constant downer, if they truly know Christ? The answer is simple, they don’t truly know Christ. And, if they do, they don’t truly have the kind of relationship with Him that He wants them to, because their actions and thoughts clearly reflect the opposite of His teaching.

Paul tells us in Philippians 4:8 “whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things”. This is obviously Paul’s recommended method of overcoming negative thinking and depression. Depression, is a subject I am a little experienced in, not personally, but experienced none the less. It can eat you alive, it can make you stay in bed all day with the shades drawn pretending that daily life is in a distant realm that is not your own reality. I have also seen the effects of coming out of depression. And I can’t speak enough how great they are. I have seen someone come out of a depression and immediately begin to perform selfless and godly acts for the benefit of others and the glory of God! It’s a beautiful thing.

I want to close with one of my favorite expressions….

When you hit rock bottom, just remember there’s no place to go but UP!

God Bless

Chris

One Response to “Fighting Depression”

  1. Joseph Story Says:

    What an awesome reminder of God’s Great Love!!! Thank you for all that you do. You touch peoples lives through the words He allows you to share. God Blessed you and now you share His Blessings with His other children. What a great example of how each of us should live our lives. Love to you and your family!!!

    Joe Story

Leave a Reply

