What is Truth?

Bulletin/Handout notes

Original Message/Sermon: Kevin Cox

From one50five youth service at Stockbridge Community Church on 6/6/2011.

(listen to sermon at one50five.com)

True(ish) Week One

 Then Pilate said, “So, are you a king or not?” Jesus answered, “You tell me. Because I am King, I was born and entered the world so that I could witness to the truth. Everyone who cares for truth, who has any feeling for the truth, recognizes my voice.” Pilate said, “What is truth?”  (John 18:37-38 MSG)

What you BELIEVE determines how you BEHAVE.

“If God were your father,” said Jesus, “you would love me, for I came from God and arrived here. I didn’t come on my own. He sent me. Why can’t you understand one word I say? Here’s why: You can’t handle it. You’re from your father, the Devil, and all you want to do is please him. He was a killer from the very start. He couldn’t stand the truth because there wasn’t a shred of truth in him. When the Liar speaks, he makes it up out of his lying nature and fills the world with lies. I arrive on the scene, tell you the plain truth, and you refuse to have a thing to do with me. Can any one of you convict me of a single misleading word, a single sinful act? But if I’m telling the truth, why don’t you believe me? Anyone on God’s side listens to God’s words. This is why you’re not listening—because you’re not on God’s side.”  (John 8:42-47 MSG)

But God shows his anger from heaven against all sinful, wicked people who suppress the truth by their wickedness…Claiming to be wise, they instead became utter fools…They traded the truth about God for a lie. (Romans 1:18,22, & 25 NLT)

Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted there by the devil…God blesses those who are merciful, for they will be shown mercy. (Matthew 4:1 & 5:7 NLT)

Two of Satan’s Greatest Weapons:

Relativism: The assumption that there is no such thing as ABSOLUTE TRUTH in our world today.

Example: (Hegalian Dialectic) TRUTH + OPPOSING TRUTH = EVOLVED TRUTH

Take for example the way life was back in the 50’s and 60’s was in a more conservative sexual sense lower birthrates out-of-wedlock, std’s etc as compared to the sexually charged/free love era, which produced our modern world’s views on sex being acceptable everywhere you look (billboards, tv, etc)

Subjectivism: I can determine what is RIGHT AND WRONG without telling my judgement to another judge.

Side note: Denying the existence of absolute truth, is in fact oxymoronic and counterproductive in itself. When someone denies that there can be an absolute truth, they are basing that on their intellect and facts that they believe they have gathered. Those facts would also, in turn be absolute truth’s in order to be facts to begin with, therefore absolute truth must exist.

What is truth?

1.) Truth is the WORD and the truth became FLESH.

Jesus told him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me.  (John 14:6)

The Word was first, the Word present to God, God present to the Word. The Word was God, in readiness for God from day one…The Word became flesh and blood, and moved into the neighborhood. We saw the glory with our own eyes, the one-of-a-kind glory, like Father, like Son, Generous inside and out, true from start to finish.   (John 1:1-2 & 14 MSG) 

2.) Jesus (THE TRUTH) can SET you FREE.

Then Jesus turned to the Jews who had claimed to believe in him. “If you stick with this, living out what I tell you, you are my disciples for sure. Then you will experience for yourselves the truth, and the truth will free you.”  (John 8:31-32 MSG)

Jesus said, “I tell you most solemnly that anyone who chooses a life of sin is trapped in a dead-end life and is, in fact, a slave. A slave is a transient, who can’t come and go at will. The Son, though, has an established position, the run of the house. So if the Son sets you free, you are free through and through. I know you are Abraham’s descendants. But I also know that you are trying to kill me because my message hasn’t yet penetrated your thick skulls. I’m talking about things I have seen while keeping company with the Father, and you just go on doing what you have heard from your father.”  (John 8:34-38 MSG)

One Last Thought…..

Truth is not just a WHAT but a WHO!

 

 

 

 

 

God Bless

Chris

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

