Deborah

Deborah was a prophetess and the fourth, and t...

Image via Wikipedia

(Today’s Bible study is brought to you by my dear friend Amy. It is on one of the most influential women in the history of all creation, and very well written I might add. For you men that may fear this post wouldn’t apply to your lives being that it is by and about a woman, that couldn’t be farther from the truth. It is a great tale of how God can use anyone from any background at any time to suit His purposes…..Enjoy & God bless,    Chris)

Hello everyone, I ended up writing on Deborah this week because last Monday I taught the ladies bible study. This Godly woman really impressed & inspired me. The interesting thing to me about this is I didn’t choose to teach on Deborah. Funny enough she was chosen for me.  The reason I find this ironic is because, I was prophesized over twice, by two prophets. The first time I was told God is going to make me into a warrior (at the time, I had no idea what that meant), the second time, simply put, they started to pray, then stopped and in shock they stated, “You are a prayer warrior.” At this point I knew it, but at the same time I was still a little doubtful, yet God confirmed it. In learning and reading about Deborah, God confirmed I’m fulfilling the purpose HE has put before me.  Recently I & 2 others started an online prayer & spiritual guidance ministry. At first it was quite busy, and now it has slowed a little. I started thinking maybe I was wrong or that I needed to find a way to promote our ministry. I discovered through Deborah, if God places you somewhere to fulfill a purpose, HE is so good that He alone will promote you. So read on about how God truly will use a woman of GOD and pave the way.
                                     

The people of Israel cried out to the LORD for help. King Jabin had 900 chariots made of iron and had cruelly oppressed Israel for 20 years.  Deborah, wife of Lappidoth, was a prophet. She was the judge in Israel at that time.   She used to sit under the Palm Tree of Deborah between Ramah and Bethel in the mountains of Ephraim. The people of Israel would come to her for legal decisions.   Deborah summoned Barak, son of Abinoam, from Kedesh in Naphtali. She told him, “The LORD God of Israel has given you this order: ‘Gather troops on Mount Tabor. Take 10,000 men from Naphtali and Zebulun with you.   I will lead Sisera (the commander of Jabin’s army), his chariots, and troops to you at the Kishon River. I will hand him over to you.'” Barak said to her, “If you go with me, I’ll go. But if you don’t go with me, I won’t go.”  Deborah replied, “Certainly, I’ll go with you. But you won’t win any honors for the way you’re going about this, because the LORD will use a woman to defeat Sisera.” So Deborah started out for Kedesh with Barak. JUDGES 4:3-9
 
Deborah lived around 1125 bc. Her name meant, “Bee (busy)” & “Spirited or fiery woman.” She was A judge, a prophet, a warrior, intercessor, a wife, a mom, & daughter.  She is the original Joan of arc. Judge (shaphat), in Hebrew means warrior & so much more. She was responsible for settling disputes, solving Problems, & in times of war they were responsible for rallying the troops & organizing any resistance. Basically a judge was a tribal leader. Deborah was also a prophet & a great “prayer warrior”, or “intercessor,” God used judges as deliverers (which meant to Deliver HIS people from affliction), and Judge also meant savior. Deborah was the only women in the bible who became A judge, and she was also the only judge to have complete jurisdiction over the entire nation Of Israel. WOW, and if that wasn’t enough she was also the only judge that was also a prophet.

*Tomorrow’s post will pick up immediately where today’s stopped.*

May God bless you all with GREAT faith!

Hope

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Deborah”

  1. hope Says:

    IF YOU NEED PRAYER OR SPIRITUAL COUNSELING EMAIL ME ANYTIME

    WeLiftYouUp@gmail.com

    GOD BLESS YOU ALL
    HOPE

  2. Dunamis Says:

    If you are out there…Love you Miss Amy! TTFN

  3. Sherri Says:

    Can’t wait to read the rest tomorrow! What an amazing woman Deborah was, I am suprised this isn’t taught about more in churches….at least I haven’t heard a sermon about it yet.

  4. john smith Says:

    Awesome chick,it was totally cool,and yes hope you are a Christian xena no doubt ,god bless you you are a faithful servant of the most high and were blessed to have ya…johns

Leave a comment