The end times? Shift some gears!

REVELATION~THE FOUR HORSEMEN OF THE APOCALYPSE.

Image by tommypatto ~ IMAGINE. via Flickr

~While sitting back today for a bit and reading several emails that I received regarding the End Times I was trying to decide what to make of it all. One email I received made several good points and read as follows:

Sept 11th (NY) Jan 11th (Haiti) and March 11th (Japan)….Luke 21:10-11 ‘Jesus said “Nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom. There will be great earthquakes, and in various places famines and pestilences. And there will be terrors and great signs from heaven”.’

~While I found this interesting, especially with the numerous implications of the number eleven used in it. Coincidence? I don’t necessarily have that answer, and like it or not, neither do you. I generally blow off the doom and gloomers out there, but I am certain that SOMEONE within the 1,900 of you wonderful readers that God has sent my way, is a gloom and doomer who is upset with me for blowing off your emotionally tied thoughts. But we must also remember that NO MAN knows the date or time, not even Jesus of the End Times. We can predict it all we want in an attempt to find peace on the matter but the real question is why do you need peace on the matter?  If you have been washed in the blood of the Lamb then why be afraid? I know I may sound redundant but “Do Not Be Afraid” is in the Bible 365 times (one for each day of the year) and I believe that is much more relevant to our faith lives than a few references to the number eleven which are based on a topic that we cannot possibly begin to explain or predict. Remember it is not our place to predict or explain this to begin with! Again, let me clear, I do believe we are on the verge of the End Times but I dare not pretend to know any specifics, but again, I do enjoy the numerics of the first email but I direct you to read and study the email below from Dr Allen Hunt that I also received today:

–Gloom and doomers have flowered and blossomed this Spring. A record-breaking harvest. Japan. Earthquakes, tsunami, nuclear tragedy, and imminent mudslides. Libya, Egypt, Saudi Arabia. Ominous Middle Eastern chaos. I receive emails each day telling me that the end surely must be near. Balderdash!

Let me offer an alternative to useless speculation and hysterical prognostication. How much better might your little corner of the world be if you spent time (and money) today improving the life of one child or one family? How much better might our country be if each of us did just that? Rather than worrying about the apocalypse or speculating about the chaos in the world and assigning blame. What if you and I covenant together to be solution people rather than problem people by remembering the famous sentence of Helen Keller:

I am only one but still I am one. I cannot do everything but still I can do something; and because I cannot do everything, I will not refuse to do something that I can do.

Pardon me while I send a note of encouragement to a friend facing cancer. Have a great week!

Grace and Peace,
Dr. Allen Hunt PhD  (ps-you can find and learn more from Allen by going to AllenHuntShow.com)

Stay Blessed,
Chris

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “The end times? Shift some gears!”

  1. Joseph Story Says:

    Chris,

    Thank you so much for adding me to this e-mail list. I really enjoyed reading your post. You have insight far beyond your young years. Please continue this ministry as I know it will be a big help for so many. Thanks for taking the time to share with us. I pray that your ministry will continue to grow daily.

    Joe Story

Leave a Reply

