fences

I want to start out by thanking everyone who read yesterday’s post. Apparently the NOW Sunday night carried into reading and tons of feedback from yesterday’s post. At the very least, I hope I was able to generate a little carry-on from the previous night wether you were able to be there or not. If you were not, I sincerely feel sad for you. Was quite the experience. For all who were able to attend, I wanted to comment on a few things I have read/learned this week so far. First a random fact that really has nothing at ALL to do with the night of worship. I learned earlier today that Sherlock Holmes never actually said; “Elementary my dear Watson”. Struck me as odd being that the particular selection of text is one that resonates with the stories. Funny how stigmas can stick to things they do not belong with. For instance, I have an atheist friend. We caught up today after not seeing each other for a while. He was quite sympathetic to my wife’s recent illness. Generally people of faith stick the label of uncaring or insincere to people who have no faith. This is so far from the truth it is not funny. I also have a few agnostic friends. I have recently decided that I respect atheists more than agnostics. This is because the agnostics among us ride the fence of indecision. At least the atheists have made a firm decision on where they stand. Many agnostics “closetly” believe that if God is real they can make up their minds just in the nick of time to find salvation after living the life they wish to. Unfortunately, it does not work that way as the scriptures clearly state that God’s return shall occur as a theif in the night, and over just as quickly. I truly hate the thought of my close friends who have not made that leap of faith yet, being comminated one day. But in that same respect, light cannot effectively function without darkness and vice versa. Back to the NOW, “Music is an art form. It is a way to wordlessly communicate” (Ken Hill). I read this today and thought back to Sunday night. To be fair, we did use lyrics and even a read-over but the music itself set the tone, very proud to be a part of a group of musicians as talented as ours.

In closing, a quote from the editor of the first King James Bible. “Prosperity is not without many fears and distastes; and adversity is not without comforts and hopes.” (Sir Francis Bacon)

God bless,

-Chris

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “fences”

  1. Sam Says:

    I would like to find faith for a number of reasons but in 25 years have not been able to.

    • cw05 Says:

      To avoid getting too personal Sammy, I would say that knowing you the way that I do I believe you have several reasons to be “able” to. Kind’ve got a “rolling miracle” if I am not mistaken? =)

  2. Cindy Woodson Says:

    The Bible says that “Faith is the evidence of things unseen”…that is so true. I kept telling you all thru Jessica’s illness that you had to have “faith”. That God would not bring you to it, if He wasn’t going to bring you thru it. God did just that. We had faith that God was going to heal Jessica, and God did just that. Love you.

Leave a Reply

